Looking for a school level physics answer....

What's Hot
WolfetoneWolfetone Frets: 1479
edited June 2018 in Off Topic
Sorry to be a pain, but I'm not a qualified engineer. I need some traction force questions worked out. I have two conveyor belts made by different manufacturers but to almost identical specifications. They describe the traction capacity of their respective belts differently which is confusing me as I work out that the belts should have fairly similar spec but haven't. Can someone tell me where I'm going wrong?

Both belts are 3mm thick 95shA polyurethane with no traction fabrics, just monolithic PU. I believe that 1kg = 9.8newtons.

Conveyor belt number one is described as having a traction capacity of 1.8kg/cm at 1% tension which I work out as;

= 1.8kg/cm 
= 17.4N/cm
= 1.76N/mm
÷ 3 (3mm thick belt)
= 0.586N/mm2
= 5.86daN/cm2

Conveyor belt number two is described as having a 10daN/cm2 which I work out as;

= 10daN/cm2
= 100N/cm2
= 1N/mm2

Why would these not match or is one company over egging their figures?

Can someone put me out of my misery?

For those mildly curious, this is a monolithic conveyor belt;

Image result for monolithic conveyor belt

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ElwoodElwood Frets: 454
    My guess would be that number 2 are giving their figures for a difference tension. Can they provide you with that?

What I do know is Kg (mass ) is not directly compatible to Newtons (force). I think there is a difference measure or unit for force Kg.
  • WolfetoneWolfetone Frets: 1479
    Thanks for that. Kg force is mentioned on their data sheet seemingly as an alternative to newtons. There is a conversion of 9.8 newtons to the kg force. 
  • martmart Frets: 5205
    Can’t you just put a jumbo jet on both and see which takes off first?
    3reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    mart said:
    Can’t you just put a jumbo jet on both and see which takes off first?