Boutique pickups and their prices

What's Hot

Comments

• hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1819
    lonestar said:
    zepp76 said:
    I received a pair of Monty's mini humbuckers today that cost £255 and have to say a portion of that had to cover the extraordinarily posh packaging! It was quite the ceremony opening it up.
    Matts quality, attention to detail and reputation makes his pickups worth every penny. Overall, he has an amazing product.

zepp76 said:
    I received a pair of Monty's mini humbuckers today that cost £255 and have to say a portion of that had to cover the extraordinarily posh packaging! It was quite the ceremony opening it up.
    Precisely. As mentioned I work in the advertising business and know how much of that opening ceremony is important and gives the perception of value. At the end of the day though I'd reckon they'll sound great to the average ear like all the other boutique pickups out there. I just feel there's a ceiling and for me personally £270 would be it for me. Anything above that is just snake oil and perception etc. As mentioned to I'm not the target audience obviously
    It’s not a perception of value. It sets the scene for what should be the result of a good purchase from a UK based pickup winder. 

You say “At the end of the day though I'd reckon they'll sound great to the average ear like all the other boutique pickups out there.”

So will a £300 guitar compared to a £3000. A non guitar player won’t know the difference. But why does that matter. It’s your tone journey, not theirs. 

This is a pretty futile topic tbh. You can ask “why is that (insert price)? What makes it better?” to virtually anything at all. You’ve admitted you’re not in the target market for anything over £90 a pickup because anything more is piss in the wind.