Are D’Addario strings easier to play?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• axisusaxisus Frets: 28335
    No.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • peteripeteri Frets: 1283

I've used EBs since I started playing (in 84), until last year.

Last year I felt something happened to EBs, they just seemed to take forever to stretch and just didn't sound that good anymore, the window of them sounding decent became very, very small.

So I switched to D'Adds and very happy, they last forever, only take a few stretches to stabilise and whilst they maybe have less of a 'new string' sound, they seem to retain a steady tone much longer.

Packaging is a bit marmite, but once you're used to it - it's not a thing for me

• mudslide73mudslide73 Frets: 3071
    I use both EBs and D'addarios... the D'addarios are definitely a bit easier imo. I put them on my 25.5 guitars and EBs on my L.P. It balances the change over a bit at gigs. 
    "A city star won’t shine too far"

• crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11446
    I use both EBs and D'addarios... the D'addarios are definitely a bit easier imo. I put them on my 25.5 guitars and EBs on my L.P. It balances the change over a bit at gigs. 
    Givent the longer life, personally I'd just go for slightly heavier D'Addarios.  The do "half" gauges these days.  If you use 10s on the 25.5" guitars, use 10.5s on the LP.
  • AnderzAnderz Frets: 30
    I don't feel any difference between strings except size. I can play fast regardless of its Ernie Ball or Fender bullets.
    Computer Shop UK Your PC Needs In One Place: https://computershopuk.com/