Laptop Advice - MBP or Dell XPS??

What's Hot
Going self employed and I need to buy myself a new laptop for what I do - I work in the Telecoms industry and have always had a laptop supplied by the company I work for!!

I currently have a Dell Precision M5520 as my work unit and I must say it has been excellent so I am looking at a similar spec - i7, 16gb Ram etc etc.

The XPS 15 has caught my eye as it's similar spec but a MBP has also caught my eye and I am now in a quandary as to what to buy - I have a healthy budget to play with but don't want to buy a lemon as I need to hit the floor running really when I start working for a new client in a few weeks.

Software wise I run SSH clients, good old RDP and the usual glut of Office Apps etc so nothing too tasking.

Is the Apple going to be a pain to get used to or should I stay Windows? And what would be the more reliable, dependable unit that would last me a few years?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14323
    welshboyo said:
    Is the Apple going to be a pain to get used to or should I stay Windows?
    Change in either direction will require a period of adaptation.

Even if your usual software programs are available for both platforms, some details may be different. At a desktop level, Windows and OSX have the same things but put them in different places and give them different names.

Simple tasks that you can currently do on automatic pilot suddenly become the clumsiest part of your computer usage. This will not look good in front of clients. 

Since Mid-2014, on any MBP, certain hardware items that you might believe belongs inside the laptop shell has to be purchased separately as an accessory. e.g. An optical media drive. The FireWire socket has gone. (Probably, little hardship to a MS Windows-compatible user.

Be seeing you.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • TwoSpellWizardTwoSpellWizard Frets: 238