iLok - Can anyone school me?

Now that I am getting my head a bit more around Reaper (DAW) I was hoping to get an iLok, so that I would be able to trial & buy some more plugins.

First of all I wanted to trial the LiquidSonics Seventh Heaven reverb plug-in.  https://www.liquidsonics.com/software/seventh-heaven/

But I’m confused with what to buy, it says that I will work with iLok 2 or 3. So as a new user, in my shoes would you buy the 2 or 3 model?

Anything else that I should know about iLoks? as I have never used them before.  Have only bought one Waves plugin & EZDrummer2 so far, which don’t require an iLok.

I’m new to this but appreciate your help...Cheers!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I have one of each.  IMO just get the latest one, it's smaller.  

They can both run the same plugin licenses as far as I'm aware.  
  • andy_kandy_k Frets: 818
    3 is just the latest, vast improvement over the previous ones, will last a lifetime.--just DONT lose it.
    I try and keep a version of reaper on my laptop with no plugins that require an I lok, just less to worry about.
    All my paid stuff, pro-tools, slate , and others lives on my macbook, which usually stays at home.
    Anything that uses i-lok plugins etc gets rendered to a wav file, which means i can use the track on my mobile setup, works for me.

• Seventh Heaven is a stunning reverb, you’ll love it! 
  • duotoneduotone Frets: 982
    Seventh Heaven is a stunning reverb, you’ll love it! 
    Yeah, from the website & Youtube videos I’ve seen it looks very good.  Most likely will go for the cheapest model $69, it should be more than enough for my use.

• HeartfeltdawnHeartfeltdawn Frets: 22107
    duotone said:
    Seventh Heaven is a stunning reverb, you’ll love it! 
    Yeah, from the website & Youtube videos I’ve seen it looks very good.  Most likely will go for the cheapest model $69, it should be more than enough for my use.