Rockschool ? RGT ? Structured learning vs a more freelance approach?

What's Hot
mli3mli3 Frets: 206
I've been playing on and off for about 10 years, taking long breaks for kids etc, I've had lessons which I think were great, but just really want to make progress. 
My goal is to be able to hold my own at a jam session (I would be coming to the Southern one in April if it was one weekend either side of that date !! ).
I've studied a few rockschool pieces with a teacher and learnt to play them, and now i just use the books to get tab for tracks I want to learn. 

Has anyone here gone through the whole grading system with Rockschool / RGT ? Would you say it is worth it, or is it a narrow way of looking at learning - should I just be playing / noodling as much as I can fitting in a few lessons when I have time ?

Thought / opinions appreciated ? I love music, always have, and I've been told i have a good ear (whatever that means).. I just want to get better !

Thanks !
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LestratcasterLestratcaster Frets: 1079
    edited August 2018
    As a private tutor of 10 years I use the RGT and RSL syllabuses alot with my learners. I would say the RGT is very well structured into 6 sections, scales/arpeggios, chords, rhythm playing, lead playing, spoken tests and aural assessments. Its very well rounded ensuring you have the vitals to play at a certain grade. (E.g you can't be good at soloing but be crap at chords and rhythm playing to pass the exam). There are 4 different types of syllabus, electric guitar (full proper grade) electric playing (a mix of performance and the full one) Rock Guitar, and Performance (pre-prepared pieces only). I have done the full one with numerous learners and proud to say I have a 100% pass rate with everyone.