Trem Block - Squier Stratocaster

What's Hot
Weekend project!

Just wanted to check out the best way to go about this before I begin, as I’ve never done it before.  If anyone has a used a good YouTube video before for this that would be helpful.  I found a few but nothing with a good explanation.  

I’ve got some 32x32mm softwood that’s dry & has been sitting in a spare room for the past couple of years and wondered if this would do the job?  Have seen more than one YouTube video using some coins taped together to gain the correct thickness before inserting them...is this a better/worse option than using wood?

thanks in advance!
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72228
    It doesn’t really matter. Anything that fits into the gap and stops the bridge moving is fine.

More important is to make sure the bridge is set correctly before you do it - the bridgeplate must rest perfectly flat on the body. The six screws at the front must be adjusted *exactly* right to achieve this - not too loose or the block will push the bridge up, and not too tight or they will raise the back edge of the bridge. Slacken the strings, and start by raising the middle four screws a turn or so out of the way, then set the two outer ones, then tighten the middle four until they just touch the plate. Then tighten the claw screws so the springs are tight enough to hold the bridge flat against the body even when the strings are tuned up.

Now you’re ready to make the block fit the gap. It should be tight enough that it needs a firm push to get it in and won’t fall out by itself, but not that it needs real force... if that makes sense. ie don’t fit it with a hammer :).

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski