NPD -Origin Effects Revival Drive Custom

lukedlblukedlb Frets: 488
edited September 2018 in FX
I’m still reeling from my afternoon with the Revival Drive. 
Two aspects have to be understood: the sound we have in our mind is not necessarily the one we hear on the record; and tuning the RD to the amplifier is paramount.
My first play with the RD was uncertain: it seemed a lot fizzier than I cared for. Past attempts at overdrive had been abandoned in favour of light transparent breakup achieved by pushing my amp with a little boost or with extra volume from a compressor. In more cases than not, I returned to a fuzz with the guitar volume down. Thing is, as much as I tried, I could never get the complete guitar tone that I heard on Hendrix. I studied his playing, I could pull off the TAB, but I knew the sound was wrong. I even tried different string gauges in an effort to match the same tone to all the strings. Having failed, I played the Hendrix Clean tracks and the Hendrix Fuzz tracks. As much as I tried, the Hendrix overdriven remained alusive.