Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Opinions on best £300 guitar (NOW BOUGHT for £350) and £100 amp for beginner (NOW BOUGHT for £170)

What's Hot

Comments

• ShrewsShrews Frets: 3003
    Well, thanks all for some really excellent advice.  It's going to take me a while to sift through and ponder all this information, but I'm getting the general vibe - better amp, lesser guitar but still a guitar that I'm going to be proud to play.

I suppose that because I'm a complete novice a new guitar and amp (with guarantee!) would give me peace of mind. It might cost more and ten years on from now I will probably say 'go used' but at this moment I'd be taking a risk.  However, as always money will dictate.

There is a Boss Katana - 50D Version 2 Amp going for £130 at Cash Converters.  Not sure whether they come around regularly or whether it's a rarity?  I would have no idea if it was good, bad or ugly even if I tried it out. New with guarantee would be less of a risk.

https://www.cashconverters.co.uk/shop/product/boss-katana-50-d-version-2/269810?list=Product catalogue

One thing I've not seen above is when is the best time to buy?  Before Christmas, after Christmas, Black Friday, wait until a guitar show etc.  Or simply, should I wait until I have more experience and this would allow me more informed decision making?

Again, thanks for any responses. Much appreciated. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Duppy03Duppy03 Frets: 104
    Unfortunately i’ve never found there to be a consistent time period to buy discounted guitar gear. I’ve held out for sales, Black Fridays etc but it’s always a bit random what’s a “bargain” and never usually something your actually looking for when you have something specific in mind.