JHS Bonsai Review

As a vintage style strat guy playing into a fender amp who loves John Mayer, SRV and the other Strat legends, it's probably criminal that I never had a proper tubescreamer. When I was a newbie to the effects world I was lent a TS9 and used it with gain dimed with no clue what I was doing. I then got myself a Tubescreamer mini but never got on with its sonic qualities. When JHS released the Bonsai it piqued my interest. I'm not really a Muff guy (never thought I'd write that sentence) but the technology behind their Muffuletta was fantastic, so to see it applied to a Tubescreamer seemed more intriguing than some people's reviews (apparently just a marketing exercise).  It has become apparent to me that most of the naysaying reviews that have come out about this are more about JHS and probably haven't come from people who've played the pedal. 

First let me clear the air. I don't hate JHS. I have owned a Morning Glory, a Superbolt, Angry Charlies, Charlie Browns and now the Bonsai. Whether they've made mistakes in the past as an organisation, I find it a little bit of pot calling the kettle black when I sit here in clothes likely made in a sweatshop, using a phone made under horrible working conditions and frequently use Amazon who border on civil rights breaches with their warehouse working environment. So hold that in mind. JHS don't start in negative equity to this reviewer.