Finding a good teacher

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• McTootMcToot Frets: 2042
    Interesting thread and I'm bumping it accordingly... @pmbomb ; interested to hear how you get/got on with the Skype avenue..

I've considered lessons off and on for years but have only had a couple and got little out of them (partly my fault, I accept). But now, having just bought a fabulous guitar, I'm minded to get off my arse and put a bit more effort in with view to expanding my repetoire and improving technique. 

I've been playing the best part of 35 years but am almost totally self taught and have really not developed as much as I ought to have done in that time.

I suppose I have a bit of talent (especially around the rhythm side of things) and a decent ear but am not one of those super gifted guys that just 'get it'. I'm also an idle bastard, which doesn't help. The guitar is primarily a chill-out tool and a gear-nerdery hobby .

I had never considered Skype lessons, but that does sound interesting. 

The time I learned the most in the shortest space of time was when I was about 18 and in a band with a guy more naturally gifted than I.  I'd love to go there again, but finding like-minded people with the same tastes and availability of time is damned hard, I'd guess. Plus there's the commitment of time away from the Mrs and mini McToots...

The forum jams in Woking and Huddersfield were also informative and energising too - I'd like to ride that wave. 

I've bookmarked this thread and will see how/if the learning discussion develops. 

Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder

My trading feedback  - I'm a good egg  ;) 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • pmbombpmbomb Frets: 1169
    @McToot will update if I do the Skype version. So far I went for a 2 hour f2f (it's a 40 min drive from here) and have another booked, will probably carry on every 2-3 weeks like that.