Loud pop - now no sound...

What's Hot
ChuffolaChuffola Frets: 2026
Just turned on my Vox AC10C1 - usual warm up period then a loudish kind of pop and now.... nothing. The jewel light is lit but not even a hiss if volume turned up full.

Before I open it up - any hints as to what it might be?  Valve (just recently changed these and never have volume above home levels)?  Likely to be pre-amp / power amp valve?  Something more serious?

I'm a total noob so treat me with the contempt I deserve.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• jpfampsjpfamps Frets: 2734
    Most likely a power valve has shorted and blown the HT fuse which is inside.

Pilot light will still turn on fine, but you will get no sound.

You probably need to change the power valve/s and replace the fuse.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ChuffolaChuffola Frets: 2026
    edited October 2018
    Thanks for the reply.

I've just opened it up. All the valves are glowing and I found the old valves in a box, so swapped them one at a time but still no sound. Not even a hum when everything at 11. 

If a power valve had blown the HT fuse, would the valves still get power?  i presume not, but as I indicated - I'm know very little about amps!

Cheers.
  • The heaters of the valves (the bits that you see glowing) are usually (always?) powered by a different circuit so they'll still glow even if the HT fuse has blown.
  • Are the valves lit up?
  • If the HT fuse had blown, the valves would not light up. If they are all llit ,i would guess it's a faulty circuit board.
    Two entirely different propositions there!  Who's right?
  • hywelghywelg Frets: 4303
    If the HT fuse had blown, the valves would not light up. If they are all llit ,i would guess it's a faulty circuit board.