Ideas for rapid playing improvement

What's Hot
I know the answer to all these questions is practice, practice, practice. But there have to be some ways that are better than others.  I've been playing for many years and play in a band that gigs regularly.  I play mainly electric - all the usual stuff - and like acoustic as well but it's the electric I want to concentrate on - I'm not interested in shredding.  I can play most anything I need to do and it all sounds fine.  But I know my limitations and I want to get better and although I understand the 10,000 hours approach I'd like to do it as quickly as possible.  What ideas do you have for the best way for me to achieve this?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• NPPNPP Frets: 236
    I'd first try and define what 'better' means for you. I found I only improve when I have a clear objective related to something specific I need or want to achieve within a few weeks or months at best. So what is it you want to work on? Why do you feel you need to get 'better', which of your limitations bother you and which don't? What do you want to get out of this - personal satisfaction, joining a more professional band, session work?

Sounds boring, but I think you can only achieve quick results by setting yourself a clearly limited and focused task. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • darthed1981darthed1981 Frets: 11745
    NPP said:
    I'd first try and define what 'better' means for you.
    I was going to say that as well.
    You are the dreamer, and the dream...
  • One of the best things I've ever read about guitar playing was a quote from Eric Roche regarding technique. To paraphrase (coz I don't have the quote to hand)...

"Don't learn technique and then hope to find a musical use for it. Instead, decide what music you want to play and learn the technique that serves the music you've chosen."