Guitar kits for the complete noob

What's Hot
Hi all

I've been bombarding the forum with 'noob' style questions recently however this is my first foray into the Making & Modding section.  You lucky people you!

With Crimbo approaching I've started to cast my eyes over the kit guitar scene.  I've already discounted trying pedal kits because my soldering just isn't up to the standard needed for tiny pcb's and the diagnostic skill needed when it doesn't work is far beyond me.  So perhaps I could build an actual guitar.  However I'd like some honest feedback from people who can/have built these things as to what to expect.

I posses only basic DIY skills and the tools for that so I'm not going to have anything useful beyond screwdrivers, drills, and a cheap soldering iron and multimeter.  I don't mind some expense in that area if it leads to being able to do guitar set-ups for myself somewhere down the line but I'm not in the market for kitting out a workshop.

I'm not expecting to end up with a custom shop equivalent musical masterpiece either.  I'm going to make mistakes and plenty of them so just ending up with something playable whilst learning along the way is the real goal.  Frankenstein's monster has a charm of it's own anyway right?  :)

What bothers me the most I think is the quality of the pieces you get in the kit.  I understand that for the price the electronics and hardware are all going to be from the budget end of the spectrum.  I'm worried about the quality of the wood parts.  I mean it's going to be difficult enough I think without contending with a neck that could be used as a shortbow because of the bend in it.  I'm sure they wouldn't be that bad but I'm not going to be skilled enough to cope with addition hurdles presented over and above the challenge of the kit itself.