Bass amp speaker combos

What's Hot
SunDevilSunDevil Frets: 511
edited December 2018 in Amps
I got a little Markbass 10" bass 45w bass combo at the weekend - seemed appropriate given I'm just starting out with bass, it sounded good in the shop and I'm short on space due to an excess of guitar gear

Volume isn't an issue, but it's either my ears or it's not very well defined on the lower frets of the E string?

I've currently got the cab up on a couple of 1" wooden slats to try and decouple it from the floor - something I've used before to help with boomy guitar cabs

So is the issue potentially a lack of amp power to cleanly drive the low end or a lack of speaker? ..if the later, I've got the options to add a second 210 cab or a 115, but which is the right way to go?

Baz
The answer was never 42 - it's 1/137 (..ish)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1631
    Bit 'o' physics? It is very hard (but not impossible given enough power) to get decent bass out of a speaker/cab below its system resonance. I know Jack about that 10" amp but I doubt it has a resonance below the 40Hz or so of the open E string.

So yes, a bigger speaker and cab will get you that bottom octave but bass G repro in a small room is a bit doomed. 40Hz has a wavelength of 27 feet and every mortal thing in the room will rattle even at very modest volumes.

Dave.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • SunDevilSunDevil Frets: 511
    Ta Dave

Indeed: Frequency Responce: 45Hz to 18KHz on the 110 and the 210 is the same

Bizarrely, the 115 is 50Hz to 17kHz
  • crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11446
    A lot of the time you are hearing the harmonic rather than the fundamental.

Some Hifi speakers quote frequency response of 55Hz to 19kHz.  We can still hear bass guitar on them.
    Gotcha, so if it's not a speaker issue, is the amp power too low to reproduce the lower frequencies clearly?
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72312