Problems with your hearing?

What's Hot
I've been manning the mixing desk at our local church for the last two months and I'm starting to think I need my hearing tested.

I'm 54, and for years have had to ask my wife what she just said, which I'm never quite sure is because I'm good at ignoring her, or if I'm going deaf.

A couple of things have happened that make me think I need my hearing checked.  The 21 year-old guy who helps on the mixing desk is able to hear sounds that I'm completely oblivious to, and this makes me wonder whether the mix I produce for the audience is intolerable to people with normal hearing.  I've done a few online tests and know I can't hear anything above 15kHz.

Also if I play through Helix Native over headphones for an hour or so I become aware that the presets all begin to sound bassy, which I'm sure they don't when the session started.  Also, at parties if there is a lot of background noise I am often to all intents and purposes deaf to conversations that are happening right next to me.

This is all a bit of a bummer because I love music and pride myself that I'm a discerning listener.  It's making me wonder if I'm just deluding myself, which is kind of hard to come to terms with.

The reason I'm saying all this is to ask - do you have a problem with your hearing?  At what point did you decide there was a problem? Do you wear a hearing aid?  If so, did you go NHS or private?

And any advice or thoughts would be gratefully received...

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Pardon?

Bt srsly, I don't have proper hearing loss, but I have a bit of tinnitus is each ear, sadly at fractionally different pitches which makes it extra annoying. I do struggle to hear voices when there's lots of white noise, but I'm otherwise ok. I make it a point to wear fitted ear plugs at noisy gigs, though my current set don't quite fit properly at the moment. I must get some new moulds done.