Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Bass VI ?

What's Hot
TTBZTTBZ Frets: 2896
I'm primarily a guitarist in a riff-driven stoner rock band, playing in Eb and Drop C#. We've been struggling to find a reliable bassist so at the minute we're looking into octave pedals etc to split the signal into a bass amp. 

I've just come across the Squier Bass VI and was wondering if this might work for us instead? Neither me or the other guitarist are too keen on taking up bass full time so was wondering if this would make a fun halfway house? It's mostly the string spacing and huge neck I can't deal with on a real bass, the VI seems to solve that?

To be honest I'm mostly just interested because the VI is cool and unique, could give us a bit of a different sound and be a bit of fun. My idea was to split the signal into my guitar amp (via EQ pedal to tame some low end) and into a fuzz and bass amp. I know I'd have to change up my playing style and chords a bit but that's not the end of the world. A lot of our stuff is single string riffing where the bass follows the guitar anyway.

In reality I expect it'd be more convenient to just get an OC3, but Bass VI seems like so much fun!  Shame the Harley Benton one is discontinued. What's the FB opinion on these - is it a "guitarists bass" or just a big compromise?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14422
    It is usually best to regard the Fender/Squier Bass VI as a baritone instrument. The string spacing is pretty tight with such heavy string gauges. 

In my opinion, it would be wiser to invest in either a medium scale four string bass guitar or a full scale six string bass. 

Octave up tracking tends to work more reliably than octave down.