What colour is my strat?

What's Hot
bandmaster188bandmaster188 Frets: 391
edited January 2019 in Guitar
hi folks, I’ve only owned this strat for approx 25 years and never really known what colour it is.
one recently popped up in the classifieds advertised as ocean turquoise which looks very close to mine, but when I googled ocean turquoise, none of the photos really looked anything like mine.
i was in a shop today and they had a strat in lake placid which again was close but not quite the same and the online pics vary massively too.
any ideas people?
its an 88 standard if that’s any help.
cheers!
pics don’t quite show its true colour which isn’t greatly helpful I know.
https://i.imgur.com/FyxZJUN.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/GW8Dm4K.jpg

The Swamp City Shakers
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• revsorgrevsorg Frets: 879
    edited January 2019
    I'm no expert but this page makes me think it might be 68 Gun Metal Blue

Or maybe 90 Blue Pearl Burst (Dust)
    0reaction image LOL 2reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72249
    Yes, I'm pretty sure that's Gun Metal Blue. A friend of mine has one, which looks just like that - although blues and some greens are notoriously hard to photograph. Ocean Turquoise is greener, and Lake Placid blue is less grey.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Philly_QPhilly_Q Frets: 22730
    edited January 2019

I agree, Gun Metal Blue.

I had an '88 or '89 Strat Plus Deluxe in that colour, and I liked it so much I ordered my custom shop '70s hardtail in the same colour - although it turned out rather darker.