Jet City JCA20HV Valve Change (how to questions?)

What's Hot
not_the_djnot_the_dj Frets: 7306
I've been gigging every couple of weeks for a couple of years with my JCA20HV and I'm starting to think I should replace the valves.

Are Karltone and ampvalves the places to shop these days?

It's still running the stock valves, and I bought it second hand so I've yet to look at replacing them....is it a case of removing the chassis or just the back cover?

Any recommendations on the valves to buy, I'm not after any drastic change in tone, just a bit of preventative maintenance as it's my main gigging head.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• simonksimonk Frets: 1467
    I’d take the chassis out as there’s a 12ax7 (V1 from memory) tucked right in front of a transformer and it’s a bugger to reach still in the shell.
    I put JJ’s in mine and they sounded fine.
  • tekbowtekbow Frets: 1699
    you talking pre-amp or power valves?
  • not_the_djnot_the_dj Frets: 7306
    Thanks @simonk ;

How easy is it to take the chassis out?

(I've searched but couldn't fine any photos or vids online, and I'm sat day dreaming about amps whilst at work ;-) )
  • simonksimonk Frets: 1467
    A few screws IIRC and a bit of jiggling as it’s probably stuck to the tolex in places.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72294
    If it hasn't started losing power or tone then don't change them, although it's worth having spares. Valves don't necessarily need replacing 'regularly', just when they wear out or fail - and in fact, the failure rate is worse with brand-new ones than with ones that have been used for a while, at least until they get really knackered.

This applies to preamp valves even more than power valves, so if you're feeling that it's not as loud or as good-sounding as it used to be, change the power valves first. This is an amp which will need the bias checking and probably adjusting for new power valves, so you'll need to know how to do that.