Recording with HX Stomp

I am planning to take the stomp into the studio on Friday, and record directly - I've never done this before - can this be done directly from the USB connection, or do I need to connect the output of the Stomp into the mixing desk also?

If so, do I then simply change the "output level" from instrument to line?

Anything else I need to be aware of?

Cheers

Keir

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FretwiredFretwired Frets: 24601
    edited January 2019
    Can be done via USB (download ASIO driver from the Line 6 website) - the HX Stomp can act as a soundcard - or you can connect it directly to a recording device/desk via balanced TRS cables.

Using USB allows up to 8 channels of audio so you can record your dry guitar signal, full mix or what's in the fx loop.

Remember, it's easier to criticise than create!
  • Fretwired said:
    Can be done via USB (download ASIO driver from the Line 6 website) - the HX Stomp can act as a soundcard - or you can connect it directly to a recording device/desk via balanced TRS cables.

Using USB allows up to 8 channels of audio so you can record your dry guitar signal, full mix or what's in the fx loop.

so, I have my DD500 in the FX Loop of the Stomp......does this mean I have to record via USB, or do you mean that recording with USB would allow me to record what's in the FX Loop on it's own, minus dry signal and other blocks in the signal chain?

If the studio is unwilling to download/install the required drivers, and I'm forced to connect via the balanced TRS cables, do I need to change the output level from "instrument" to "line"?

Thanks again

Keir

• FretwiredFretwired Frets: 24601

so, I have my DD500 in the FX Loop of the Stomp......does this mean I have to record via USB, or do you mean that recording with USB would allow me to record what's in the FX Loop on it's own, minus dry signal and other blocks in the signal chain?