Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Upgrading Epiphone Dot pickups etc

What's Hot
OnparOnpar Frets: 415
I got my Epiphone dot that I discussed on a previous thread and it genuinely played better than the Gibson ES 355! I think it might have something to do with the fact I am bot a massive fan of binding. But the Gibson sounded much much better - more clarity, less muddy, more articulate etc. So I am looking to upgrade the bits that might make this sound better. I understand that it won't ever sound as good because it's not the same guitar but there should be room for improvement. This is where I am looking for advice as I have zero knowledge on guitar electronics.

Any recommendations for pickups?

Also what else do I need to upgrade? wiring harness, tone pots etc?

I will ask a tech to undertake the work but want to know what to ask for.

Thanks!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• PhiltrePhiltre Frets: 4164
    edited February 2019
    I upgraded my Dot and it now sounds fantastic.

I put in a Seymour Duncan Vintage Blues Set (https://www.seymourduncan.com/pickup/vintage-blues-set) and a superb harness, switches and knobs from @sixstringsupplies - https://www.sixstringsupplies.co.uk/product/es335-harness (with the short frame switch).

I did the job myself, bit of a faff but do-able.

Loving it.
  • mr_airmr_air Frets: 24