Good technical book on amps

What's Hot
Can anyone recommend a good book on designing and building amps?  I find myself more and more interested in this side of things.  I'm a physicist so quite happy with reasonably technical explanations, and I'd want something fairly in-depth.  Specifically (as some of my other posts will indicate) I'm interested in low power amps, not 100W monsters...

I keep seeing the Dave Hunter handbook mentioned - is that a good place to start?  Or Aspen Pittman?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RiftAmpsRiftAmps Frets: 3150
    tFB Trader
    Best bet is to go see Merlin - Www.valvewizard.co.uk
    *I no longer offer replacement speaker baffles*
    Rift Amplification
    Handwired Guitar Amplifiers
    Brackley, Northamptonshire
    www.riftamps.co.uk

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1631
    RiftAmps said:

Absolutely! Merlin is Da Man. He has not so far as I know done a book on power amps for guitar? Wish he would hurry up, not getting any younger!

Jamie, beware of some of the authors out there, some are very partisan and some talk "cork sniffing bollocks". Merlin takes an "engineering" view and blows out a few myths on the way. If you do read other people, check in here before committing a large wedge to traffs and such.

I know you are a clever chap but I make no apology for saying BE CAREFUL! Even a wee 1 watt valve amp has 250V or so inside it and they ALL have mains volts! If at all possible don't work on live chassis without a responsible person around.  No kids, no pets, no booze.

Dave.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • RiftAmpsRiftAmps Frets: 3150
    tFB Trader
    ecc83 said:
    RiftAmps said:

Absolutely! Merlin is Da Man. He has not so far as I know done a book on power amps for guitar? Wish he would hurry up, not getting any younger