Recording Artifacts

What's Hot
Had my recording stuff a few weeks now, and I'm fairly new to this.

So, I'm re-amping guitar using an amp into a Two Notes Torpedo Reload, loadbox into an Audient ID44, gain staging to -18db, and applying Ownhammer or Two Notes IR's using Wall of Sound.

Single track with no other plugins applied and single IR (no blending) within WOS.

Quite often, I'm finding that I get what I can only describe as a sharp vowelly "quack" or chirp in the initial attack of picked notes, especially if they're higher register. It nearly reminds me of an envelope filter type effect and almost oscillate. Theres a similar effect happening more consistently in the low end, a sort of "chewy" effect.

Both mentioned happen behind/above the primary sound, almost like a ghost effect.

Now, I'm well versed with pick chirp as I use quite heavy picks, but it doesn't sound like this when coming through the amp's speaker cab.

Is this a commonly known artifact that's easily remedied? I'm presuming it's something to do with my setup rather than any issues with equipment.

Cheers
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Winny_PoohWinny_Pooh Frets: 7761
    Do you have the direct sound in the ID44 mixer properly muted? 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 26549
    Can you give us an audio example?
    <space for hire>
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • tekbowtekbow Frets: 1699
    edited March 2019
    Do you have the direct sound in the ID44 mixer properly muted? 
    You mean when playing it back to the amp?

I thought I did. If I mute the dry track in reaper then theres no output to the amp. But I have monitoring off and recording disarmed for track 1 when replaying.

I'm pretty sure I have all the faders all the way down in the Audient mixer too. I'll have to go back and check though.