What order when laying down tracks?

What's Hot
As I'm just starting out with recording I'm not sure of which way/order to layer each track, could you kind folks give any advice on such things please? There'll be drums (obviously they are laid down first) then I'm guessing bass but which way round should I add acoustic rhythm, keys and lead guitar (at a guess I assume lead guitar comes last?) or does it not matter? This may be a stupid question but I am only just learning!
Tomorrow will be a good day.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• wave100wave100 Frets: 150
    I think you are on the right track here - there's not really a single right way but it makes sense to record instruments which define the groove first, so drums first, then bass and rhythm guitars, then everything else.
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33782
    edited April 2019
    zepp76 said:
    As I'm just starting out with recording I'm not sure of which way/order to layer each track, could you kind folks give any advice on such things please? There'll be drums (obviously they are laid down first) then I'm guessing bass but which way round should I add acoustic rhythm, keys and lead guitar (at a guess I assume lead guitar comes last?) or does it not matter? This may be a stupid question but I am only just learning!
    It really depends on the person- the goal is to get the right performance.
    The most important thing in the tune is usually the vocal, so whatever you need to do to get the vocalist comfortable singing as well as they can.

Some vocalists need to have a completed track to sing over, some don't.

When you say 'I guess the drums are laid down first'- what will the drummer be playing along too?
    Or are you sequencing the drums?
    Either way you might find it better to start with a riff, or a melody first, don't let drums dictate the content or structure of the song.