Fender Custom Shop ‘floor traveller’ and how to get one.

What's Hot
fretfinderfretfinder Frets: 4978
edited April 2019 in Guitar

Forgive me if I’m teaching my grandmothers to suck eggs, but it seems not everyone on here knows what a CS ‘floor traveller’ is or how to get one. I’m no expert but thought I’d share some thoughts as I’ve found it very helpful to have the floor traveller to hand when selling or buying a Custom Shop Fender. 

As many of you know, it’s basically just a detailed spec sheet for a Custom Shop guitar’s build, containing all sorts of useful details on a specific guitar, identified by its serial number. The traveller will tell you whether the body was sorted for light weight, what the fingerboard radius is, the fret size, what pickups are fitted, the neck shape and thickness at the first and twelfth frets, whether the ‘board is AAA dark rosewood, any options like finish removed from back of neck, and much, much more. 

As far as I’m aware (Mark at @guitars4you or Doug @DougCoda or any other experts please feel free to chip in) almost every Custom Shop guitar has its own traveller, including Masterbuilts. An exception is certain runs of CS guitars that share exactly the same spec, when there may just be a general spec sheet covering all of the guitars in that run.

There can be anomalies, like when a certain feature on the actual guitar is not what the traveller says it should be, but I think that’s rare. I also came across a very odd one once when I emailed Fender a serial number and pics of a Relic Strat and while they said they believed it was a genuine CS guitar (and so did I) the serial number on their system actually brought up the traveller for a CS Tele not a Strat at all! So maybe there’s the very occasional repeated s/n, not sure.