Set up my epiphone les paul myself, gothic version.

What's Hot
John420John420 Frets: 3
Hi guys I have just changed the stings on my guitar from old coroded, rusty 10s which came with the guitar, to a new set of dunlop 10-46. It's an epiphone les paul, the black gothic version.

It seemed to really lower the action a hell of a lot just changing the strings, don't really know why that is. So I found it in me to attempt adjusting the truss rod and I got the action much, much better. Next I put it in standard tuning, loosened all the saddles and went through intonation which is now right on the dot.

I'm very new to messing with guitars like this. All the signs up to now to me seem good. If you achieve really good intonation at the end of it all that's supposed to be a good sign, right?. But like I say I'm no pro and am new.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• dazzajldazzajl Frets: 5653
    If the guitar plays and sounds just how you like it, then you have achieved your perfect set up. Which feels much nicer when you've done it yourself.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • HenrytwangHenrytwang Frets: 470
    If you’re new to setting up guitars there are  lots of videos on the subject on YouTube. As long as you take things carefully great results can be achieved by making a few simple adjustments. Perhaps when you gain more confidence you might be tempted to try slightly more advanced stuff such as fret levelling etc.
  • John420John420 Frets: 3
    Thanks guys.. It plays nice, can't complain whatsover. It makes sese to tune and sort intontation while in your own hands and position etc.

I took my acoustic to a shop to get set up. He's done a great job though. It's a lot better than it was.
    The electric I'm confident it's set up pretty ok to be honest.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
    edited June 2019