Ashdown Peacemaker 20 -Autobiasing? Help needed!!!

What's Hot
Revolting1Revolting1 Frets: 295
Hi everybody.             Bought amp off ebay before discovering this site...... Its shifting a bit in volume,up and down and the distortion when the gain is up is worse than a £25 solid state amp.Tried changing the  output valves(very tired looking JJ el 84s) with  NOS yellow (60's) teslas .That improved the sound a little but also added some hum.Then I looked at the valves and the 84's were gently redplating.                I'm a total newbie with el 84s .             Could it be caused by- mismatched valves?   one or more of the ecc83's ? pin 1 to 2 NOS connection issues?   duff new valves?     "autobiasing"????system"? 
Chinese/Essexmarshgremlins?                                     The geological looking JJs dont redplate.     Is it worth carrying on with this amp,can they sound good.                            This is my first post on the fretboard,I know I've dropped one, please be gentle with me, any help massively appreciated, thanks in advance.                                                                           
When logic and proportion
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72242
    This probably isn't what you want to hear, but it's also known as the "Partsmaker". Terrible amp, all sorts of problems. It's not likely to be the valves. The only good thing I can say about the 20 is that the bigger models are worse.

Sorry!

I had a quick look on Ebay and saw that at least you didn't pay too much for it - it's probably worth having it looked at by a tech. It's unlikely you'll be able to return it since it was listed with that fault.

And whatever you do, don't let the seller talk you into taking the Failing Angel instead...

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski