Blues Jnr IV - headroom and effects

What's Hot
BintyTwanger77BintyTwanger77 Frets: 2208
edited June 2019 in Amps
I’ve been using the newest model of Blues Jnr for about 4 months now, no gigging, just playing at home, and I’ve been mostly pleased with it. I have noticed one thing, though. When I dial in a bigger reverb sound on the Flint on a higher mix (80s Hall usually) there is an unwelcome mid-heavy droning sound. In fact, generally with more complex, dense effects, it sounds like the speaker can’t cope without flubbing out, even when I dial the mix down. It makes playing using more atmospheric, delay/reverb sounds more problematic. I don’t know if it’s an issue with the headroom of the amp (it’s not the Flint, I’m sure) and that having something more powerful with more headroom, or even a different speaker, would help. Anyone else experienced this? I know previous versions of the Blues Jnr were regarded as boxy-sounding, but suggestion was that the IV had improved this.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FreddieVanHalenFreddieVanHalen Frets: 954
    edited May 2019
    TL;DR try running the effects through another amp or amp sim on your computer to see if you still get the mid range throbbing/droning :-)

@icbm would probably be most in the know regarding the blues junior models and impacts of cabinetry. Maybe something about those reverbs is making the BJ resonate and not in a good way.

For my own two penneth’s worth, if I’m just playing at home and want lots of stereo effects then I’ll just rig the effects up with my computer sound card and monitors with decent IRs or amp sims for wet effects channels. Monitors seem to be more capable for keeping all the effects frequencies in order than guitar cabs.

Then I can either just use a dry amp in the room or an amp sim balanced centre for the guitar itself.