Cranked Marshall tones without cranking a Marshall?

What's Hot
robgilmorobgilmo Frets: 3436
Think Black Crowes tone, can it be done? Ive got a Peavey Deuce which is increadably loud and cant get it loud enough and a Vox Cambridge which isnt it either, is there a small Marshall combo that will get me where I want to be at low volumes? 
A Deuce , a Tele and a cup of tea.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• musteatbrainmusteatbrain Frets: 877
    It will always be a compromise if you aren’t moving a speaker with volume, but if budget allows I’d pick a decent marshall with a master volume and something greenbackish as a speaker choice: There’s a lot of options.
    there’a probably a modeller that does a decent job, but I have no experience of them.
  • robgilmorobgilmo Frets: 3436
    Would a solid state Marshall get me close? Ive been reading up on tinternet and so far no dice. If I could get my Deuce cranked without shattering windows but even an attenuator might not get it quiet enough and Ive heard they make things mushy at lower volumes anyway. What would a decent Marshall with master volume look like? Budget is limited. A modeller might be a good alternative.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72258
    Marshall Guv'nor MkI or Drivemaster pedal.

Having heard the guitarist in my band use his through the clean channel of his Orange Rocker 30 at band practices...

They're very similar sounding, the Drivemaster is slightly thicker and sells for less.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein

ICBM said:
    Marshall Guv'nor MkI or Drivemaster pedal.

Having heard the guitarist in my band use his through the clean channel of his Orange Rocker 30 at band practices...