Having a hard time choosing a cabinet for a marshall 20 watter. Please help!!!

What's Hot
riffpowersriffpowers Frets: 344
I've just ordered a Marshall Studio Classic head.
I need to get a cab to go with it, I sold all my cabs last year and for now I've got a lend of an H&K 2x12.

The whole idea was to downsize from a 100 watt JCM800 and a 4x12 to something more practical both volume and transport wise.

I've never been a huge fan of marshall cabs, and I particularly hate the mono/stereo jack sockets that they have.

So, I'm looking for a decent quality cab with suoiable speakers that'll get the best out of my new amp that doesn't weigh a ton and is decent quality, preferably vertical.

So I've had a few ideas -

2nd hand I've seen for sale near me -

Marshall 1966a. Seen a few for sale, they seem keenly priced, but I've no idea if they're any good or not. Are they play or MDF? What are those 80's g12t-75 speakers like??

Orange Jim Root 2x12 but I've no experience of the "voice of the world" speakers.

I've also considered at new cabs like Zilla, which are more expensive and loaded with g12m creambacks, but maybe they're worth it/?!! Still a heavy cab though, I'd wnat to make sure it was perfect for my needs before spending that type of money.

The Harley Benton 2x12 vertical is out of stock, and I don;t know anyone who's had one so can;t comment on the quality or sound.

Has anyone got any advice or suggestions??
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TwinfanTwinfan Frets: 1625
    Personally, I'd get the matching SC 2x12 cab.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 71960