A worthy upgrade from an F310?

What's Hot
sinbaadisinbaadi Frets: 1297
I've been playing guitar for about 4 years, and in that time I've owned and loved my Yamaha F310, which in its properly set-up, mildly upgraded with bone nut and saddle format is at least as good as the cheap Fender acoustics I've tried, but obviously it's a budget instrument (laminates etc), and I would like something proper.  I've thought about getting something for circa £300, but I question just how much "better" they are than my Yam and really I want something that will be a "Guitar For Life" type purchase, although I'm not rich enough to just drop £2k on a Martin, so I'm looking for suggestions of worthy guitars.  Where is the starting point if you were to do that sort of thing?
So - a major upgrade from the F310
     - Guitar For Life
     - Not bank-breaking (honestly £1k would be the upper limit)
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• GruGru Frets: 339
    edited May 2014
    Faith Guitars certainly get some great reviews. The naked series (all solid timber) start at £350 new (including a setup if you buy from rguitars). A little more and you get into there other gloss, natural and mercury ranges (all but the naked range include hardcase, essential in my opinion if you want it as a keeper for life)

Good options of body styles and sizes. Upto £800 for top of range/finish.

I have heard that they all go though Patrick Eggles workshop for quality/setup check before being sent to shops, but I don't know how true this is? Anyone verify?

I have only played a standard one out of the box, but not one setup by a shop, so I don't know how much of a difference it would make.

Very nice guitars.
  • BranshenBranshen Frets: 1222