Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Which do Bassists Prefer?

What's Hot

Comments

• BellycasterBellycaster Frets: 5850
    edited September 2013

@Blueingreen

I'm not an expert on Bass Gear, hence the Thread, but Ian Savage's Post further up explains about Class D rigs, Lightweight etc.

Only a Fool Would Say That.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17598
    tFB Trader
    10 years or so ago I was playing bass using an SWR Grand Prix preamp into a QSC PLX 1602 and a couple of SWR 2 x 10s. Nice sound but a lot of stuff to lug around. Loud but it needed to be in a 9 piece funk band. I haven't even picked up a bass guitar in years so I'm well out of touch with recent changes in gear technology.  Would I be right in thinking that it would be possible to do a similar job with a much lighter rig these days?  
    Yes indeed. 
    Mark Bass, TC Electronic, etc produce some great light weight gear. 
  • Our bassist has gone from a MiniMark to a SVT Heritage. Much cleaner and sustained... heavier than a Twin too .. takes 2 of us to get it up onto the cab.
    "A city star won’t shine too far"

• ICBMICBM Frets: 72297
    There is a reason why the SVT is still possibly the most common single model of bass amp to be seen on professional stages, forty years after it was introduced.

But they're much better if someone else takes care of moving it, storing it, paying for revalving it...

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Only two things are infinite - the universe, and human stupidity. And I'm not sure about the universe." - Albert Einstein