'Oily Towers' ... all the latest from Oil City Pickups

What's Hot

Comments

• Hey Ash, I am intrigued by these reflector plates.

What do they do & how do they work?
    Do they actually contact the magnets or do they sit behind them?
    The holes make it look like they contact somehow.

And a total newbie question, what does this style of pickup sound like, subjective description I know, and why does it sound that way?
    Enjoying the thread immensely, and it is helping me narrow down what I want from my next pickups.
    Thanks, Chris

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom · Share on Facebook Share on Twitter
  • TheGuitarWeaselTheGuitarWeasel Frets: 3189
    edited September 2013
    Okay, reflector plates or 'inductance plates' as I prefer to call them, sit butted up to the bottop magnets on some single coil pickups...or closely surround the base of the magnet on others. They do not have to make electrical contact with them (in fact on most pickup designs it's better if they don't as it causes grounding issues) bit they must be in very close proximity in the magnetic field.
    Adding ferrous material (iron) within the magnetic field of the pole magnets and within or under the coil increases the inductance of the pickup. Increasing the inductance gives a tiny boost to 'perceived' output power ... but most importantly it shifts the frequency response of the pickup noticeably: fattening up the lower frequencies a little, and making the top end a little more smooth and less 'icepick in the ear'.
    Classically this effect is heard on Telecaster Bridge pickups ... where the plate helps keep the twang down low ... whilst stopping what could be a 'shrill' design (due to it's very tall coils) from making peoples teeth break with the treble :)