Heinous Crime

What's Hot

So, its my first build, Jooky Tele body, Oil City pickups various other nice pieces picked up along the way.

Finally get time this weekend to put things together. Jooky sourced me a really nice neck and with the Kluson style tuners to fit I get started. Measure the screws, tape the drill bit, use a hand drill for safety and control ( have you guessed where this is going yet?).

Feeling so confident I drill all the holes, screw the tuners on and look on proud at my craftmanship, then turned the neck over.

In the words of Homer....DOH!

2 of the drill holes have gone through.

My wife even heard my groans and came in to see what pained me. When I explained and showed her my absolute balls up she sweetly said, and I quote 'well the wood will be able to breathe'. I didn't know whether to laugh, cry or hit her with a heavy blunt object.

So, with these 2 'air' holes on the front of the headstock, any ideas for repair without stripping it right back?

Your help for an idiot gratefully appreciated.

1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RichardjRichardj Frets: 1538
    Fill them and finish the headstock to match the body, or a nice veneer over the face?  

Sorry, that was a bit obvious, it's still early!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Use it as an opportunity - strip back the finish on the front, buy a nice veneer (flamed maple, sycamore, ebony?) and put that one.  There is someone here who's very good with veneers, but cannot remember who.  I hope they chip in!
  • jd0272jd0272 Frets: 3867
    Strip, dowel fill the holes, refinish.
    "You do all the 'widdly widdly' bits, and just leave the hard stuff to me."
  • jd0272jd0272 Frets: 3867
    Sites for the making of dolls houses and such are a great place to find wee radii dowel.
    "You do all the 'widdly widdly' bits, and just leave the hard stuff to me."
  • RickydRickyd Frets: 149