Nut files - should beginners be wary?

What's Hot
guitarfishbayguitarfishbay Frets: 7959
edited June 2014 in Making & Modding
I'm going to need to fit bigger strings to my guitars, which will mean I need to widen my nut slots.

Since I'm going to be doing this to at least 3, possibly 4 guitars I'm wondering if I should just bite the bullet and buy some nut files.

I have no experience cutting nuts, but I'm willing to work slowly and I'm willing to buy the proper Stew Mac (or alternative, if there are?) nut files.

Is this an advisable thing for a beginner to do?  Which resources (online or printed) are recommended for learning how to do this? 

Or is it too easy to get wrong and then wind up paying for a tech anyway?  I'm not adverse to paying for someone to do the work for me but I figure it is about time to start expanding my own skill base when it comes to guitar repair.

Thanks
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• WezVWezV Frets: 16652

i messed up probably my first dozen or so nuts and it was almost always by going too low on the high e

took me that long to realise the thinner nut file was cutting a lot faster than the thick ones.

go slow and you will be fine.  it won't take much to widen the slots

• octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33782
    WezV said:

i messed up probably my first dozen or so nuts and it was almost always by going too low on the high e

took me that long to realise the thinner nut file was cutting a lot faster than the thick ones.

+1.

Go to a pet shop and get a cow bone.
    You can cut/trim it down to make a bunch of nut/saddle blanks (wear a mask).
    You can do it by hand but a bandsaw is much more efficient of course.
  • FatfingersFatfingers Frets: 500
    And don't buy the cheap, Chinese nut files on offer for around 20 quid a set on eBay. At least not if you want to cut a nut on an electric with 10 to 46 strings, as they're too wide.