Fake gretsch?

What's Hot
Van_HaydenVan_Hayden Frets: 437
I'm 99% certain this is a fake

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/261534563573

No serial on back of neck, seller says trem has been changed, fuzzy pics.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Van_HaydenVan_Hayden Frets: 437
    Wrong tuners I think.
    I'll add I am not a gretsch expert at all.....
  • HeartfeltdawnHeartfeltdawn Frets: 22096
    edited July 2014
    I say bullshit. Tuners are wrong as you say. If it was a genuine G6119, I'm pretty sure they use a Bigsby B6 vibrato. The customised guitar here shows what appears to be a Bigsby B700. I can't see any reason why you'd take it off. 

The serial number is JT14031086. From what I understand, that means this guitar claims to have been made in 2014 in the month of March. The current retail price is over £2,000. So made in March 2014, somehow gets a damaged Bigsby, gets some modding done to it, and up for sale in July for peanuts? No fucking way. 

And no decent player in their right mind pays £2k for a Gretsch to stick it through a Marshall MG50 with a cheap cable like that :D

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • lustycourtierlustycourtier Frets: 3297
    Thumb nails are huge too. Body is way off as well.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
    Wooden bridge base is totally wrong shape too.
    If it's too good to be true it probably is......
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • JDEJDE Frets: 1092
    Apart from the fact it's the wrong shape, looks great.......
  • CorvusCorvus Frets: 2924
    edited July 2014 tFB Trader

Body is wrong shape as is scratchplate, pickups seem to be el cheapo Filter-not-very-alikes, trem should be a V-cut B6C and only a looney would screw a tension-bar one, let alone a B700, onto a proline, it's way too cheap,it's got an action you could park a bus under. Apart from that, it's cool !