Anyone have any experience with Mackie SRM450 v2s?

guitarfishbayguitarfishbay Frets: 7959
Any long term user reports, or general feelings about the Mackie SRM450 V2s?

DV247 are selling them at £289 per speaker, we were thinking it would make sense to grab one or two for vocal PA if we ever manage to find a permanent room to rent.  They have them at one of the studios we use for rehearsal and they seem plenty loud enough for vocals when we're using a pair of them.  But I have no long term knowledge of what they're like, and to be honest have never even heard them without my earplugs in.

They'd pretty much be getting used for vocals (lead and backing singer), at most an acoustic guitar or two.  A pair of them would surely be powerful enough for that?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I have owned and used a set of SRM450s (Version 1s) for years, Everything from acoustic duo to full on 8 piece Ska/Reggae (albeit not mine) band and they have been loud enough, and I have had many compliments from audience members about the way that they sound. I have heard that the V2s are physically lighter and not made as well as the V1s but the people I know who own the v2s have never had any reliability issues. I think mainly the problems have been due to the speakers overheating (correct me if I'm wrong). I have run weekly open mic nights using the SRM450s (v1) and they have been great, the 3 other people I know with SRM450 v2s do similarly without an issue. I have had the V1s in a room with 250 people and they were loud enough for that... and could have even been pushed harder. Hope that Helps!
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10402

The V2's are class D so yes lighter. We have ver 1 and 2's here, for cheap speakers they are ok and that's a good price I think