Yamaha SGs - Experiences, advice needed

What's Hot
MoltisantiMoltisanti Frets: 1131
I'm new to playing the SG shape after 20 odd years...i like the idea of a beefer bodied SG like the Yamaha, but i know absolutely nothing about them.

What's the deal with the different model numbers, neck profiles, pickups, weight, years, country of origin etc...?

And generally people who have or have had them, what did you think ?

Cheers

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LoobsLoobs Frets: 3831
    They are beautiful instruments.

Tonally speaking along the lines of a Les Paul. Powerful guitars.

Heavy.
  • Phil_aka_PipPhil_aka_Pip Frets: 9794
    I have an SG2000, bought 2007-ish

straight thru neck (maple/mahog layers); ebony fingerboard; mahog body with maple cap.

almost as heavy as my LP Std, more sustain, better hi fret access. tone is a little more "polite" than the LP but it still rocks out. Controls exactly where you want them, coil splits on the tone pots get you a wide variety of sounds in addition to what you'd expect from a guitar that put the wind up Gibson in the LP-competition stakes. 

It's the guitar Gibson should have built, but didn't. A luxury guitar. Summary 'kin excellent, get one!
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
  • richardhomerrichardhomer Frets: 24798
    I know the OP is after owner's experience - so I'm cheating.

I played one of these when Santana was using one (late 70s). It was fantastic but vastly beyond my reach at the time (about £500 IIRC!)
  • KebabkidKebabkid Frets: 3305
    edited July 2014