New Neck on my Variax 300 - Help, pretty please?

What's Hot
thecolourboxthecolourbox Frets: 9687
edited July 2014 in Making & Modding

Recent discussions around my Variax 300 have got me wanting to swap guitar necks all over the place.
Would anybody here have the time, skills, and wish to help me get a nice neck on to my Variax 300? I'd like to point out that I have no technical knowledge whatsoever, anything I say here is based on what I have read or been told here!

In essence I like how it sounds (and I suffer none of my usual noise issues), and it looks nice enough, but doesn't appeal to play and I think this is down to the neck on it.

I believe a strat size/scale neck will fit, however the holes are in the wrong place I think.

So, I see the options as thus:

1. Buy a new one from a company that makes them and try to get them to drill it for me for the Variax

2. Buy a new or second hand Fender one, and get either a repair shop or somebody here to drill it for me

Would happily pay the going rate, within reason of course - I'm not willing to rip anybody off for their time. I'm pretty sure I could screw it into place myself, and setting up with the strings action & intonation thereafter I can do fine myself, it is literally just the acquiring of a neck, and the filling/drilling of the holes I would need help with!

Thank you all so much

Please note my communication is not very good, so please be patient with me
soundcloud.com/thecolourbox-1
youtube.com/@TheColourboxMusic
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• impmannimpmann Frets: 12663
    I can help you with this - *BUT* I'm not going to be in a position to help for a few weeks due to work and family commitments. 

You will need a Strat neck - and really, fitting it won't be tricky... to explain:

1) Remove old neck
    2) Find a drill bit that will work for a pilot hole - not too fat not too thin.