Advice looking for a replacement guitar

What's Hot
itmitm Frets: 1
I'm an intermediate level guitar student looking for a new guitar, but don't know where to start. I currently have an old Yamaha FG180 (red label Nippon Gakki) but I think it may have intonation problems (difficult keeping the bottom strings in tune when not played open). Having already spent £65 getting a setup and an issue with the nut resolved I'm now looking to trade it in for something that I'll find easier to keep in tune.

My preference is for something second-hand (don't want to spend more than about £80 if possible), and I'm based in Richmond in West London. I was wondering if anyone could offer any suggestions on models that would be worth looking at, and maybe any local dealers that would offer reasonable deals?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ICBMICBM Frets: 71950
    My honest advice is to have someone else have a look at it - there's no way you'll get anything remotely that good for that sort of money, and there's no reason it shouldn't stay in tune (or play in tune, which is more what you're describing) if it's sorted out properly.

In fact, you're unlikely to get anything that good for £180, let alone £80.

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Just because I don't care, doesn't mean I don't understand." - Homer Simpson

• GassageGassage Frets: 30824
    I could let you know of a local dealer who'll offer a totally unreasonable deal and will be as rude as fuck to you just as a bonus

Call Al at Chandlers.

Never knowingly overly nice to anyone.

*An Official Foo-Approved guitarist since Sept 2023.

5reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11410

Gassage said: