Amplifier Musings

What's Hot

Over the years, I've had an interest in making my own amp. I have some previous experience - made the Maplin Millenium 4-20 stereo hi-fi amp from a kit, and built a single-ended EL84 guitar amp using tagstrip and point to point wiring. Also messed around with valve preamp circuits for a bit using a plank of wood, some nails, and tinned copper wire to link the bits together. While I'm certainly no expert, I have a reasonable understanding of valve circuits (and the associated risks).

I'm not sure if this will ever come to anything, but I feel it would be good to open it for discussion, if only to improve understanding for myself and maybe others. Of course, better understanding may well make everything look more feasible and lead to making a real amplifier.

Here are my initial thoughts on the amplifier's features...

Combo, either 1x12 or 1x15.
Prefer a ready-made cab and chassis.
Power about 30-40W.
Must be super clean.
No PCBs - all turret board. tagstrip, point-to-point.
No silicon in the signal path.
Valve-driven FX loop.
EQ: Bass, mid, treble, presence.
Overdrive channel, perhaps with its own EQ.
Possible input for a Hammond organ (if so, must have overdrive).
Possible reverb, valve-driven if so.
Option to use open-back or closed-back.

It must stay clean at volumes louder than I can get away with in the living room. I can get away with my Laney Cub 10 pushed into power amp overdrive, and the new amp must stay clean at louder volume levels than that. I realise 30-40W is probably too much for even my tolerant neighbours, and I have no particular plans to take this out of the house, but my reasoning is that, for the amount of effort that will go in, I'd rather have something that could be used - clean - for drummer-volume jams and maybe gigs.