Microphone for Rock singing - well I call it singing! :)

What's Hot
I searched here already to see what Mics people use and didn't really find many posts so I'm asking.

I'm a guitarist really but my current band doesn't really have a singer, so we each have a go.

I've got what I would call an enthusiastic voice. I'm not always bang on key but it's always got passion!

The rehearsal rooms we hire have a variety and I've been using a Sennheister microphone. I'm quite pleased and thinking of buying one for myself rather than keep using theirs (who know what diseases people have how use this mic before me!!)

So, what are people using themselves? Shure mics? Or do others use the Sennheister and are happy with it.

Cheers
Mike
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• monquixotemonquixote Frets: 17603
    tFB Trader
    SM58

The classic
  • For live, stick with something simple like an SM58, can take a lot of abuse ;)
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Personally I prefer the middle of the Sennheiser E-series (had an 835 and currently using an 840, very happy with both) to an SM58; they tend to be cheaper too ;) look out for fakes if you're not buying from a dealer though. 
  • GrunfeldGrunfeld Frets: 4038

So, what are people using themselves?
    Shure Beta 58A -- very similar to the SM58, slightly tighter pattern, so possibly less prone to feedback.  Same tank-like build.  And I liked it and got one for the entirely shallow reason that I thought I sounded better with it. 
  • CirrusCirrus Frets: 8491
    edited September 2014
    Each singer will have a different list of microphones that work with their voice, and there's no way to know without trying a bunch. For live, I'd get whatever is in your budget that looks good. Shure and Sennheiser are both quality companies, though Sennheiser seem to have more cheap mics in their line. Personally, I've been happy with my SM58.