a few newbie questions... sorry

What's Hot
I bought a guitar to strip to the wood (started tonight, going to take a while but should be 'fun').

It's my first time doing this, and I wanted to upgrade a few things on it... but I don't know where to start really. So any advice would be great.

I'm not trying to make a cheap guitar a 'Les Paul killer', just wanted to see what I could do.

If a put a roller bridge on it does it effect string spacings? 
Can any stop bar be used a replacement?
If I up grade the pickups, what are the basics to look for? Again on string spacing etc. (rather than sound).
It it worth upgrading the wiring along with the picks. i.e. pots etc.?

I know this is fairly basic stuff, but any advice (as always) would be great.

Cheers

Mark

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Adam_MDAdam_MD Frets: 3420
    What guitar did you buy? Knowing the model will let people help you with string spacings, stop bar sizes etc.
  • Sorry. It's a BC Rich Bich platinum. So it's pointy and cheap :)
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 72305
    markblack said:
    If a put a roller bridge on it does it effect string spacings?
    Probably pointless if it has a stop tailpiece - you only need a roller bridge with a trem. If you still want to fit one anyway, it depends on the design - some (eg Schaller) can be adjusted, some can't.

markblack said:
    Can any stop bar be used a replacement?
    Most seem to fit, but it's possible some won't.

markblack said:
    If I up grade the pickups, what are the basics to look for? Again on string spacing etc. (rather than sound).
    Most humbuckers come in standard (Gibson) spacing, and some come in 'F' (Fender) spacing. Some makers differentiate between bridge and neck spacing too. It's not critical - if the string passes over any part of the polepiece it makes no difference other than visually. You can even have the E strings slightly outside the polepieces and probably won't hear it.