Contemplating a Zendrive-alike as 1st pedal project build - advise?

What's Hot

Comments

• MegiiMegii Frets: 1670
    frankus said:
    It really depends how often you do it - I made a classic mistake in writing just now (holding the tip d'uh) that's obvious, I've been writing for nearly 40 years I still make mistakes :)

It's really about being methodical and I'm not ultra great at that - I made a madbeans delay pedal in about 2 hours the other week - neat soldering and worked almost first time.. a tiny strand of wire was sending some of the signal to ground. It took about 5 minutes looking at the pcb to find it.. yay for neat soldering!

It didn't take long to identify that - all my parts are in labelled drawers but I also multimetered the resistors and ensured the capacitors were the right ones BEFORE I soldered them in, no assuming even though I'd been careful in selecting the pieces.

A lot of effort first will save time in debugging later.

It's not easy if you've got kids or other demands on your time, it's taken me about 6 months to finish making a Klon :)
    Cheers! more great tips in this post, thanks. I do think I am a pretty careful methodical type of chap, perhaps to the extent of being a bit nerdy, I don't know. I'm always happy to go slow, and be meticulous - that has been a trait when building guitars from parts, but the results have been worth the care and time IMHO. So I reckon I would carry that approach forward into the pedal building.

A good multimeter is on the shopping list also now. I already have a cheap digital one, but it doesn't do capacitance for one thing. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Pedal parts kits are great, my first attempt (axis fuzz) went amazingly well, worked first time (once I worked out I grounded the board against the chassis!).

So I recommend them whole heartedly.