Recording drums

What's Hot
So my band have asked me to do a demo recording... the only thing I have no experience with is recording drums, mainly as for my own projects I have a Yamaha DT eXpress iv which I use as trigger for EZ Drummer.

Now I suggested that our drummer could use this as it would be much easier to record, but he uses a bigger kit and wants to try a real recording, he has all the mics but really I don't know where to start!  2 OH + Bass and Snare mics...?

Also how to make the recording is vexing me a little, should we play to a click then re-record the parts or just do it live (issue here is I only have 8 tracks available at once..)

Any suggestions welcome, especially if you have a sure fire method ;)

Will be recording via Zoom R24 into reaper
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10396
    edited October 2014

The success you generally have recording  drums basically comes down to 3 things in this order :

The drummer, the kit and the room the drums are recorded in

A good beginners method is what's known as the recorder man method and it uses 2 overheads and an easy method of keeping things in phase, take a look at this link :

Once you have a good image of the kit in your overheads you can add kick and snare mics and advance from there. Drums are one of the hardest things to record well so don't expect studio results straight away. 

I would use a click if the drums are going down on their own, it makes editing a lot easier. Find the right tempo, send the drummer a click and get someone to give the drummer a scratch vocal and guitar so he knows where he is in the song. Once you have some good drum takes you can build up the tracks from there
    www.2020studios.co.uk 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • TeetonetalTeetonetal Frets: 7801
    Ohhh that's interesting... first up to try me thinks...
  • ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1626