Electric guitar kit ideas for a spring / summer project.

What's Hot
I'd like to build an electric guitar, I've never done one before but it's something I'd like to have a go at come the spring. I'm a fairly handy, can solder etc and have a small shed / workshop to complete the work so sorted from that pov. 

The Kits on Amazon for approx £120 seem, on face value too cheap, (perhaps I being too dismissive I don't know)? I'd spend £500+ so I end up with something decent. 

realise I'm asking quite a broad question, however I'd be very grateful for any links to complete kits, and body and necks only that I can fit my own hardware to. Ideally ones in the UK.

thank you.
Graham

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• underdogunderdog Frets: 8334
    edited January 2015
    Some of the kits on Amazon look really nice. I've built an £80 kit and was pretty impressed to be honest. It's easy money for a factory as your time and money is dealing with finishing, assembling, soldering and setup. As long as your happy with that kind of work then I'd not worry about spending £500 on a kit.

But a decent kit of about £150 or up, and bin the electrics and tuners and invest in some good ones. You'd end up with a good guitar.

Or ignore kits and get a body and neck made and buy whatever hardware and electrics you fancy
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • The idea of buying a kit to bin electrics etc isn't something I'm really keen on.

Are there any higher spec kits for sale? All the ones on google I can find are £100 or less. 
  • speshul91speshul91 Frets: 1397
    Mine was 116 with delivery and seems pretty good
  • TTonyTTony Frets: 27345
    Check out the threads here.

We ran a compo last year to see what people could make out of a basic kit.  You might be surprised ...

The idea of buying a kit to bin electrics etc isn't something I'm really keen on.