Am I mad to contemplate this - some common sense please..........

What's Hot
rlwrlw Frets: 4692
I've been learning now for a couple of months and I seem to be making slow but solid progress.  Being a bit older, things take a bit longer but I am happy with what I have achieved thus far, and I know that I have found a long term, extremely enjoyable hobby.  I have both a dot and a strat. The dot came first and I was just blown away by how much fun and pleasure it gave me.  Once I knew that I was in this for the long term, the strat was acquired from a chap on here at what I considered to be a very fair price and, let's face it, you have to own one at least once.

Amp wise, I started off with the tiny little Orange Crush, tried and returned a Vox Valvetronic thing and currently have a Blackstar ID Core 10.  The latter is a nice little amp, more than suited to my current needs and was very affordable .  BUT.  It does sound a bit boxy and it doesn't satisfy me listening to it.  I acknowledge that it could sound way better used by someone who can actually play......

Looking around, I see that there are number of amps with low output, switchable or otherwise, that would seem to be a big step up but still remain suitable for home use, all around the £300 - £500 mark, and I am in correspondence with a chap who has a Cornford Harlequin which interests me a great deal, again in the same price range. 

Then today I spotted the Tone King Falcon for sale on this very forum.  Way above what I had considered spending but, with a bit of man maths, affordable at the asking price.  Given that I'm looking for the one, the one which sounds great, can be played loud or quiet and still sound great, and that it can't be too noisy most of the time, the Falcon with the attenuator and the fantastic sounds would seem like a good, long term prospect.  Hell, it would even probably retain a lot it's value in the years to come and could be sold if need be.