Classical guitar strings

For those that play classical, or nylon stringed guitars in general, which strings do you prefer?

I've been experimenting with Savarez Alliance/Corum reds. They basses sound great, and are very flexible (when loose they are like string) but don't seem to last long - after a month the silver windings have gone where they rub against the frets.

The trebles I'm not so sure about. They are very crisp, but a bit glassy. The other problem was the strings took over a week to settle in.

Right now, I've switched to Pro Arte composites for a comparison. Initial impressions are that they settle in much quicker (hours), the basses are stiffer but don't sound as good as the Savarez, the trebles are quieter and warmer, the composite G I'm not sure about yet.

I'm a nylon string novice, so it's probably just me, but does changing strings on a classical usually take a couple of hours? 

What's your experiences?
1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• I've always stuck to Augustine or La Bella. They seem to give me the best lifetime and consistency between sets.

In terms of stringing up, it shouldn't take much longer than steel strings but they do seem to take a lot longer to settle in and stretch.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • MegiiMegii Frets: 1670
    edited February 2015
    Does anyone else find the string squeak noise with standard classical guitar round wounds annoying? It's always tended to bug me anyhow, so I've often gone for the "lightly polished" or smoothed surface type of classical strings. I tried some fairly expensive Savarez one time, and they were nice, but the metal winding on the bass strings seemed a little bit too soft a metal, and would break after a while. Discovered the D'Addario Pro Arte composite core lightly polished ones a while back - they seem to be the best I've found so far:

• Megii;519706" said: