Suggestions on learning material

What's Hot
smudge_ladsmudge_lad Frets: 664
edited February 2015 in Theory

Hey guys,

Looking for some advice on some goods books/dvd's/websites that I can use to improve my playing. Not sure if this should be in the theory or technique section, so I've posted in both! Mods please feel free to remove from wrong forum if it's causing an issue.

I'm self-taught, and been playing for around 20 years now (god, really???) and I've never had a proper lesson at all. I learned using guitar tab, and I've muddled my way through various bands with this and playing by ear.

I'm eventually starting to learn the notes on the fretboard, but I don't know any scales etc.

So I'm looking for something that isn't too "beginner" I guess, but happy to put the leg-work in on some simpler stuff that will ultimately make me a better and more knowledgeable player

What can you all recommend?

Cheers

Keir 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• nickpnickp Frets: 183
    edited February 2015
    Hi Keir

give us a clue - what do you want to learn?  I'm a bit intermediate to advanced player at some stuff but with huge gaps and i have found it best to focus on small bits and take 6 months or so as it seems to take a lot of effort to get relatively small gains but then I notice a bit of a step change after a while 

if it is the notes on the fretboard and stuff like that then there is an excellent lick library DVD
    if it is tremolo bar action then mike casswell does good stuff
    if it is sequencing and scalar patterns/areggios then there are books to do this
    what about funk playing - then the ross bolton vids might be a good place to start

or if it is general why not run through justin guitar website as a refresher - beginner to intermediate and work on general stuff
  • nickpnickp Frets: 183