Power at Gigs - Living on the edge!

What's Hot
Hi all,

This might be a daft question but then I'm an expert at daft questions.

It occurred to me that our band needs a lot of power outlets. This isn't an issue in our rehearsal rooms as they sensibly have numerous power sockets and each on has a 4 way strip.

I imagine that places that have bands on are also similarly well set up.

However, our main venues are going to be village halls, rugby clubs, etc. Basically any private venue that someone would hire for birthday party, etc.

I imagine we'd find ourselves stuck up one end of the room and maybe only have access to two power outlets from the wall.

The thought of running 4 ways strips into more 4 way strips so that we have enough sockets scares me stiff! At best, I can see it overloading and no noise from the band. At worse, I can see if blowing and taking the electrics at the venue with it!

So, what do you guys do? Or do you all just chance it. Living on the edge so as to speak :)

Cheers
Mike

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• spacecadetspacecadet Frets: 671
    If there are more sockets around the room, we have 30m extensions to run round. The more sockets the better. If you don't have a choice, plug in and hope for the best!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • David5150David5150 Frets: 118
    Its a valid question - we have ran our whole band - PA, bass/guitar amps and LED lighting from one socket before but didn't feel overly happy about it. Always keep a couple of long extension leads in the gig bags and take a little plug tester  thing to check the sockets are wired properly
  • Danny1969Danny1969 Frets: 10396
    edited March 2015